The Trustees of The Archive are currently as follows :

Former Trustees

Serving Trustees at 1st June 2021

Sir Roger PENROSE F.R.S. O.M Professor Emeritus University of Oxford .

Sir Roger Penrose is Chair of The Archive Trust

Lord REES of Ludlow F.R.S.

Lord Rees of Ludlow became a Trustee of the Trust in 2013. He served as President of the Royal Society from 2005 to 2010

He was the Master of Trinity College Cambridge from 2004 to 2012

He is the serving Astronomer Royal, a position he has held since 1995,_Baron_Rees_of_Ludlow

Professor Dennis LEHMKUHL

Dennis Lehmkuhl is Professor of the History and Philosophy of Physics at The University of BONN

Professor Basil HILEY

Emeritus Professor of Physics Birkbeck College University of London


Department of Philosophy, University of Aberdeen .

Dr Bacciagaluppi is the Secretary of The Archive Trust

Professor Simon SAUNDERS

Professor of Philosophy of Physics and University Lecturer in Philosophy of Science at the University of Oxford. Fellow of Linacre College.

Professor Saunders is the Treasurer of the Trust.

Former Trustees

The following founding Trustees of the Trust have retired since the Trust was founded.

The Trust places on record its thanks for their services and the time, encouragement and support they have given so unstintingly to the Trust and to its aims.

Prof Michael REDHEAD

F.B.A., Formerly Professor of the History and Philosophy of Science at Cambridge, Centennial Professor LSE, co-director of the Centre for the Philosophy of Natural and Social Science.

Professor Redhead passed away on

Professor Marc LACHIEZE-REY

Director of Research at CNRS Service d’Astrophysique, DAPNIA, C.E. Saclay Paris France


Professor Chris ISHAM

retired as a Trustee of the Trust in 2018 owing to continued ill health. .  The Trustees would like to place on record their thanks for his service his advice and  his many acts of kindness and thoughtfulness.